The Revenge Playbook

The best books start here.

Don’t get mad, get even! In this poignant and hilarious novel, Rachael Allen brilliantly explores the nuances of high school hierarchies, the traumas sustained on the path to finding true love, and the joy of discovering a friend where you least expect.

In the small town of Ranburne, high school football rules and the players are treated like kings. How they treat the girls they go to school with? That’s a completely different story. Liv, Peyton, Melanie Jane, and Ana each have their own reason for wanting to teach the team a lesson—but it’s only when circumstances bring them together that they come up with the plan to steal the one thing the boys hold sacred. All they have to do is beat them at their own game.

Praise for The Revenge Playbook:

“This loose readalike to E. Lockhart’s The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, celebrates girl power and focuses on challenging “old boys’ clubs” traditions…It’s a book about high school, bullying, popularity, and finding your own voice while doing what is right. A fun YA title that challenges sexist attitudes in modern-day high school culture.” —School Library Journal

“The story is told in the alternating voices of the four girls, allowing insight into each one’s troubles, while also skillfully moving the revenge plot forward. The novel deftly and gracefully explores many difficult themes, ranging from sexual assault to hazing, expertly balancing weighty issues with the more lighthearted struggles of high school. This timely novel provocatively shines a light on the power that many high-school football players can wield and sometimes abuse.” —Booklist

“Explores how girls survive and thrive in a male-dominated society. While the initial setup feels comic, the book takes a hard look at real difficulties. Written in chapters featuring each of the girls, their different personalities add a nice level of complexity to the story. A deceptively light look at the dark side of football culture.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Stories like this one are gratifying because real girls have to deal with different versions of this every day.” —VOYA