New Deal: MAJESTIC by Matt Myklusch

The best books start here.

Category: New Books

 

I’m thrilled to announce that Matt Myklusch’s (author of the Jack Blank and Seaborne series) newest middle grade series, MAJESTIC: THE MAGICIAN’S ASSISTANT, has sold to Liesa Abrams at Aladdin. It’s fun, it’s fast paced, and it’s about what happens when we allow ourselves to believe in the power of good old fashioned magic.

Joey Kopecky isn’t smartest 12-year-old in the state of New Jersey. But everyone thinks he is. So when Joey’s perfect test scores and ability to “see through tricks” get him out of summer school and qualify him to try out for a job at the Majestic Theater working for Redondo the Magnificent, he is thrilled.

Joey wants the job, but he’s not the only one applying. He will face competition from children who come from all around the world.

Joey

[more]

Not one, not two, but three (or four, depending on how you count) Upstart clients have new books out in the world today! Happy pub day to Ruth Spiro’s newest BABY LOVES books: BABY LOVES THERMODYNAMICS and BABY LOVES QUANTUM PHYSICS; Marcie Colleen’s seventh SUPER HAPPY PARTY BEARS title, TINY PRANCER; and Catherine Holt’s MIDNIGHT REYNOLDS AND THE SPECTRAL TRANSFORMER! And, bonus: Sarah Lariviere’s Edgar Award nominee, THE BAD KID, is out today in paperback!

Congrats and happiest of Pub Days to all!

[more]

I’m so happy to share that Amanda Ashby’s MG ghostly mystery novel Midnight Reynolds and the Spectral Transformer, has sold in a three book deal to Wendy McClure and Eliza Swift at Albert Whitman!

I love this cute and creepy novel — chock full of ghosts and ghost-hunting gizmos. Not to mention a twist that I promise you won’t see coming!

When twelve year-old misfit Midnight Reynolds takes a job helping out eccentric Miss Appleby in the mansion down the street, she never imagined her work would involve battling ghosts. But as it turns out, Midnight and her new employer have quite a bit in common—they were both born on Halloween and have the power to see spirits of the dead. But when Midnight learns more about the history of her town, she starts … [more]

I’m so happy to share that Lisa Lewis Tyre’s MG novel HOPE IN THE HOLLER, has sold in a two book deal to Nancy Paulsen at Nancy Paulsen Books / PRH!

HOPE IN THE HOLLER is the poignant – and funny – story of a girl trying to be brave and find her place in the world after she’s sent to live with scheming relatives.

Right before Wavie’s mother died, she gave Wavie a list of instructions to help her find her way in life, including this one: Be brave, Wavie B! You got as much right to a good life as anybody, so find it! But little did Wavie’s mom know that events would conspire to bring Wavie back to Conley Hollow, the Appalachian hometown her mother tried to leave behind. Now Wavie’s back … [more]

I’m delighted to share that Angie Smibert’s MG historical fiction novel GHOSTS OF ORDINARY OBJECTS, has sold in a three book deal to Rebecca Davis at Boyds Mills!

Sometimes the hardest story to love is your own.

Set in a Southern Virginia coal mining town in 1942, GHOSTS OF ORDINARY OBJECTS: BONE’S GIFT introduces us to twelve year old Bone Phillips, who can see the stories in ordinary objects—and she doesn’t much like it. It’s her family Gift, as her Mamaw calls it. In a jelly jar, fiddle or even a butter yellow sweater, Bone sees tales of loss, grief, love and hope. But these aren’t the stories Bone likes to tell. She’d much rather spin yarns of gypsies or talking animals. Bone’s Mama had the Gift too, but Bone doesn’t know much about … [more]

Well, May 30th – you’re a lucky day!  This is the day that Julie Israel’s debut YA novel, JUNIPER LEMON’S HAPPINESS INDEX is out there in the world!

Funny, warm, and moving, Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index is a contemporary YA novel about loss, how deeply we can know others, and making our own happiness; perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Jandy Nelson’s The Sky Is Everywhere.

Sixty-five days after the death of her older sister, sixteen-year-old Juniper Lemon discovers the break-up letter addressed to “You” Camilla wrote the day she died. Juni is shocked—she knew nothing of this You, and now the gaping hole in her life that was her sister feels that much bigger. She’s determined to uncover the identity of You and deliver the letter. Maybe that would help fill … [more]

Today is the official publication day of Jacqueline West’s riveting YA novel, DREAMERS OFTEN LIE. Jacqueline is author of the NYT bestselling middle grade series, The Books of Elsewhere, and DREAMERS is her first foray into the YA genre, and she’s done a smashing job of it, too.

“Engrossing . . . A dizzying new twist on one of the Bard’s most famous plays.”

DreamersOftenLie_cv copyDREAMERS is Black Swan meets Shakespeare–a twisty, enthralling story of one girl’s brush with madness:

After a skiing accident that fractures her skull, Jaye is left with a splitting headache and strong delusions. Jaye must keep these delusions secret from her family, doctors, and everyone at school in order to keep her starring part in the school production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream — even though visions of Shakespeare and [more]

I recently had the pleasure of being interviewed by Upstart Crow client Andrew Brumbach over at the Literary Rambles blog, where we discussed the release of his debut novel, THE EYE OF MIDNIGHT the harrowing submissions process, and the joy of getting “the call”. Pop over the blog for the full interview, and do be sure to put THE EYE OF MIDNIGHT on your “to read” list today!

The Eye of Midnight

 

 … [more]

It’s a cornucopia of cover reveals at Upstart Crow this week!

Today, we are thrilled to share the cover for Amy Allgeyer’s riveting debut novel, DIG TOO DEEP (Albert Whitman, April 2016). The good folks at YA Books Central did the official reveal yesterday, and you can hop over there to enter to win a free advance reading copy. b2ap3_thumbnail_Dig-Too-Deep_CvrReveal

It’s not just that Liberty Briscoe feels like an outsider in Ebbotsville, Kentucky. She expected it wouldn’t be easy to move from the city to her granny’s place for her last year of high school. Still, Liberty can’t shake the feeling that something’s not quite right. Everyone says the water’s safe, yet nobody drinks it. When Granny becomes sick, like so many others in town, Liberty starts to wonder about the water, the people who

[more]

We are so very excited about Leah Konen’s steamy contemporary romance, THE LAST TIME WE WERE US (Katherine Tegen, May 2016). Last Time We Were Us_FINAL

Liz Grant is about to have the summer of her life.

She and her friend MacKenzie are getting invited to all the best parties and, with any luck, Innis Taylor, the most gorgeous guy in Bonneville, will be her boyfriend before the Fourth of July.

Jason Sullivan wasn’t supposed to come back from juvy. A million years ago, he was Liz’s best friend, but that was before he ditched her for a different crowd. Before he attacked Innis’s older brother, leaving Skip’s face burned and their town in shock.

Liz always found it hard to believe what they said about Jason, but all of Bonneville thinks he’s dangerous. If word gets out she’s seeing

[more]